THE PROJECT

At the age of 10, Laurent Tessier received a liver transplant. Receiving chronic immunosuppressive treatment to prevent rejection, Laurent and his family are warned about owning pets. His mother, Hélène Tessier, a veterinarian, aware of the deep attachment and support that their Sushi dog brings to Laurent, wants to evaluate the real infectious risks/benefits of keeping Sushi. Noticing the lack of available information, Hélène contacts the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine of the University of Montreal to start a project to address this major gap... the Projet Laurent is born!

 

ABOUT US

Laurent Tessier

Laurent Tessier is the muse and inspiration behind the Projet Laurent. He is a boy with an overflowing energy who loves sports and especially extreme sports! He enjoys downhill skiing, sailing and surfing. At the age of 10 Laurent was diagnosed with liver cancer. He underwent long and very aggressive chemotherapy followed by a liver transplant. For him, his cat Mini-Zoro and Sushi, his Border Collie dog are very important family members. Laurent is involved in fundraising campaigns for research (Fondation Ste-Justine and Charles Bruneau) and recently in a project that is very close to his heart: Projet Laurent!

Hélène Tessier
Sylvain Bédard

Hélène Tessier, DVM graduated from the Faculté de Médecine Vétérinaire (FMV) of Université Montréal in 1995. She has been practicing in the field of pets since graduating from the faculty. Three years later, she became co-owner of a veterinary clinic that she kept for almost 20 years, until her youngest son's illness. Diagnosed with liver cancer, followed by a transplant, Dr. Tessier remained at her son's bedside for a few years. When life returned to normal, she started a veterinarian mobile service. This will give her greater flexibility in her schedule, while continuing to practice veterinary medicine, which she missed during this period of downtime.

Sylvain Bédard first heard the word transplantation in 1980, when he was diagnosed with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, a heart disease that had just taken his 18-year-old sister away. Sylvain struggled for 20 years before finally receiving the gift of life. Committed to the transplant community (CEPPP), he is a patient-partner of the Canadian Donation and Transplantation Research Program (CDTRP), Sylvain shares his life with Charlie, his dog who has been providing him with motivation and comfort for many years.

DSC_0743.jpeg
Michel Carrier

Michel Carrier, DVM, IPSAV, MSc graduated from the Faculté de Médecine Vétérinaire (FMV) of the Université de Montréal in 1982. Dr. Carrier is now a Professor in the Department of Clinical Sciences at the FMV where he has been teaching veterinary ophthalmology since 1989. Involved dynamically in the administrative side of his faculty, he was head of the pet hospital for 10 years, vice-dean of clinical affairs for 4 years and, most recently, dean of the faculty for 8 years. Convinced for a long time of the positive contribution of the human-animal bond, it only took a call from his colleague Hélène Tessier for the idea of the Projet Laurent to be born!

Mélanie Dieudé

Mélanie Dieudé, PhD is an immunologist, associate Professor at the Faculty of Medicine of Université de Montréal, researcher at the Centre de Recherche du Centre Hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal (CRCHUM), and the Executive Director of the Canadian Donation and Transplantation Research Program (CDTRP). Dr. Dieudé's research aims at revealing the impact of 1) immunosuppression and 2) tissue injury derived autoimmune responses of importance in Solid Organ Transplant rejection, Graft vs Host Disease and Systemic Lupus Erythematosus. 

Christopher F P.jpg
Christopher Fernandez-Prada

Christopher Fernandez-Prada, DVM, MSc, PhD is a molecular parasitology researcher devoted to tackling zoonotic parasites. Dr. Fernandez-Prada holds an assistant professor position at Université de Montréal - Veterinary College. He is adjunct professor at McGill University, and Director of the Parasitology Diagnostic Lab of University of Montreal. His research is focused in the discovery of drug-resistance mechanisms, and the development of diagnostic tests and vaccines.

Michel_Pépin.png
Michel Pépin

Michel Pépin, DVM is a veterinarian, president of the Fédération des associations francophones de vétérinaires pour animaux de compagnie (www.fafvac.org) and communications officer for the Association des médecins vétérinaires du Québec en pratique des petits animaux (www.amvq.quebec). He is also editor of Le Rapporteur magazine.

Isabelle Doré

Isabelle Doré, PhD is a professor at the School of Kinesiology and Human Kinetics in the Faculty of Medicine of the Université de Montréal and a researcher at the Centre de recherche du Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CRCHUM). Her research focuses on physical activity as a strategy to promote mental health and reduce the risk of anxiety and depressive disorders and aims to understand the mechanisms that may explain the benefits of physical activity on these mental health indicators.

Stéphanie Larivière

Stéphanie Larivière has a background in Biotechnology from Cégep de St-Hyacinthe. She is a basic research coordinator in transplantation at the Centre de recherche du Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CRCHUM) as well as data manager and social media specialist for the Canadian Donation and Transplantation Research Program (CDTRP). Always accompanied by her cat, Stéphanie is in charge of the coordination of the COVID-19 sub-study of the Projet Laurent.

Aïda Minguez

Aïda Minguez BSc, MSc, PhD is a scientific graphic designer. After a BSc in Environmental Sciences, an MSc in Geological Risks, and a PhD in Geomorphology through GIS and Remote Sensing, She reoriented her career towards science outreach, scientific graphic design and research support. She is very much enjoying working at the Université de Montréal veterinary faculty, learning about parasites, molecular biology and cows. "When I'm not drawing bedbugs or making websites, I love to read and to knit — but no, I'm not that old!"

Marie-Chantal Fortin

Marie-Chantal Fortin, MD, PhD, F.R.C.P. is a nephrologist on the kidney transplant team at the Centre Hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal, a researcher at the Centre de recherche du CHUM (CRCHUM) and a clinical associate professor at the Université de Montréal. She completed her PhD training in bioethics at the Université de Montréal during which she became interested in the representations of French and Quebec transplanters around the issue of living donation. She is also lead of the CDTRP Patient, Family and Donor Researcher Partnership Platform.

Francis Lévesque

Francis Lévesque, PhD is an anthropologist, associate professor at the School of Native Studies of the Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue (UQAT), a regular member of the Centre interuniversitaire d'études et de recherches autochtones (CIERA) and director of the Native Studies module at UQAT. His research focuses on the relationship between humans and animals in the Canadian Arctic, more specifically on the relationship between dogs and Inuit. He is interested in the benefits and risks associated with having dogs, as well as Inuit knowledge and changes in human-dog relationships following sedentarization.

Special mention to the students who contributed to the content of the Zoonoses and Immunodeficiencies sections: Mira Hajjar (UdeM), Victoria Wagner (UdeM), Alexis Gendron (UdeM), Sandrine Juillard (UdeM) and Alexandre Brodeur (UdeS and UdeM).

 

* The website was created by Aïda Minguez-Menendez, scientific graphic designer and illustrator.

 

Contact us

Projet Laurent

LE PROJET

À 10 ans, Laurent Tessier reçoit une greffe de foie. Recevant un traitement immunosuppressif chronique pour prévenir le rejet, Laurent et sa famille se font mettre en garde sur la possession d'animaux de compagnie. Sa maman, Hélène Tessier, vétérinaire, consciente de l'attachement profond et le support que leur chien Sushi apporte à Laurent, veut évaluer le rapport réel risques infectieux/bénéfices de garder Sushi. Constatant le désert d'informations disponibles, Hélène contacte la Faculté de médecine vétérinaire de l'Université de Montréal afin de démarrer un projet pour pallier à cette grande lacune... le Projet Laurent est né!

 

À PROPOS DE NOUS

Laurent Tessier

Laurent Tessier est la muse et l'inspiration derrière le Projet Laurent. Il est un garçon avec une énergie débordante qui adore les sports et surtout les sports extrêmes! Il pratique le ski alpin, la voile et le surf. À l’âge de 10 ans Laurent a reçu un diagnostic de cancer du foie. Il a subi de longues chimiothérapies très agressives suivi d’une transplantation hépatique. Pour lui, son chat Mini-Zoro et Sushi, son chien Border Collie sont des membres de la famille très importants. Laurent s’implique dans les campagnes de financement pour la recherche (Fondation Ste-Justine et Charles Bruneau) et nouvellement dans un projet qui lui tient beaucoup à cœur: le Projet Laurent!

Hélène Tessier
Sylvain Bédard

Hélène Tessier, DMV a gradué de la Faculté de Médecine Vétérinaire (FMV) de l'Université Montréal en 1995. Elle pratique dans le domaine des animaux de compagnie depuis sa sortie de la faculté. Trois ans plus tard, elle deviendra co-propriétaire d’une clinique vétérinaire qu’elle gardera pendant presque 20 ans, jusqu’à la maladie de son plus jeune garçon. Diagnostiqué d’un cancer du foie, suivi d’une transplantation, Dre Tessier restera au chevet de son fils pour quelques années. Lorsque la vie revient à la normale, elle démarre un service mobile. Celui-ci lui donnera une plus grande flexibilité dans ses horaires, tout en continuant de pratiquer la médecine vétérinaire qui lui a grandement manquée durant cette période d’arrêt.

Sylvain Bédard a entendu parler du mot transplantation pour la première fois en 1980, lorsqu’il a appris qu’il était atteint de cardiomyopathie hypertrophique (CMH) une maladie du cœur qui venait d’emporter sa sœur de 18 ans. Sylvain luttera pendant 20 ans avant d’enfin obtenir un don de vie. Engagé auprès de la communauté des greffés (CEPPP) et patient-partenaire du Programme de Recherche en Don et Transplantation du Canada (PRDTC), Sylvain partage sa vie avec Charlie, sa chienne qui lui apporte motivation et réconfort depuis plusieurs années.

DSC_0743.jpeg
Michel Carrier

Michel Carrier DMV, IPSAV, M.Sc. est diplômé de la Faculté de médecine vétérinaire (FMV) de l’université de Montréal en 1982, Dr Carrier est aujourd’hui professeur titulaire au département de sciences cliniques de la FMV où il y enseigne l’ophtalmologie vétérinaire depuis 1989. Impliqué dynamiquement dans le volet administratif de sa faculté il aura été chef de l’hôpital des animaux de compagnie pendant 10 ans, vice-doyen aux affaires cliniques pendant 4 ans et, dernièrement, doyen de la faculté pendant 8 ans. Convaincu de longue date de l’apport positif du lien homme-animal, il n’aura fallu qu’un appel de sa collègue Hélène Tessier, pour que naisse l’idée du Projet Laurent!

Mélanie Dieudé

Mélanie Dieudé, Ph.D. est immunologiste, professeure associée à la Faculté de Médecine de l'Université de Montréal, chercheuse régulière au Centre de recherche du Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CRCHUM) et directrice générale du Programme de Recherche en Don et Transplantation du Canada (PRDTC). Les recherches de la Dre Dieudé visent à révéler l'impact 1) de l'immunosuppression et 2) des réponses auto-immunes dérivées des lésions tissulaires d’importance dans le rejet de greffes d'organes solides, la maladie du greffon contre l'hôte et le lupus érythémateux disséminé.

Christopher F P.jpg
Christopher Fernandez-Prada

Christopher Fernandez-Prada, DMV, M.Sc., Ph.D. est un chercheur en parasitologie moléculaire qui se consacre à la lutte contre les parasites zoonotiques. Le Dr Fernandez-Prada occupe un poste de professeur adjoint au Collège vétérinaire de l'Université de Montréal. Il est professeur adjoint à l'Université McGill et directeur du laboratoire de diagnostic en parasitologie de l'Université de Montréal. Ses recherches sont axées sur la découverte des mécanismes de résistance aux médicaments et sur le développement de tests de diagnostic et de vaccins. 

Michel_Pépin.png
Michel Pépin

Michel Pépin, DMV est vétérinaire, président de la Fédération des associations francophones de vétérinaires pour animaux de compagnie (www.fafvac.org) et responsable des communications pour l’Association des médecins vétérinaires du Québec en pratique des petits animaux (www.amvq.quebec), Il est également rédacteur du magazine Le Rapporteur.

Isabelle Doré

Isabelle Doré, Ph.D. est professeure à L’École de kinésiologie et des sciences de l’activité physique à la faculté de médecine de l’université de Montréal et chercheur au Centre de recherche du Centre hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal (CRCHUM). Ses travaux de recherche portent sur l’activité physique comme stratégie pour promouvoir la santé mentale et réduire le risque de troubles anxieux et dépressifs et visent à comprendre les mécanismes susceptibles d’expliquer les bienfaits de l’activité physique sur ces indicateurs de santé mentale.

Stéphanie Larivière

Stéphanie Larivière a une formation en Biotechnologies du Cégep de St-Hyacinthe. Elle est coordonnatrice de recherche fondamentale en transplantation au Centre de recherche du Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CRCHUM) ainsi que gestionnaire de données et spécialiste médias sociaux pour le Programme de Recherche en Don et Transplantation du Canada (PRDTC). Toujours accompagnée de son chat, Stéphanie est en charge de la coordination de la sous-étude COVID-19 du Projet Laurent.

Aïda Minguez

Aïda Minguez B.Sc., M.Sc., Ph.D. est une graphiste scientifique. Après un baccalauréat en sciences de l'environnement, une maîtrise en risques géologiques et un doctorat en géomorphologie par les SIG et la télédétection, elle réoriente sa carrière vers la vulgarisation scientifique, la conception graphique scientifique et le soutien à la recherche. Elle aime beaucoup travailler à la faculté de médecine vétérinaire de l'Université de Montréal, où elle apprend à connaître les parasites, la biologie moléculaire et les vaches. «Quand je ne dessine pas des punaises de lit ou ne fais pas de sites Web, j'aime lire et tricoter - mais non, je ne suis pas si vieille!»

Marie-Chantal Fortin

Marie-Chantal Fortin, M.D., Ph.D., F.R.C.P.(c) est néphrologue au sein de l’équipe de transplantation rénale du Centre Hospitalier de l’Université de Montréal, chercheure au Centre de recherche du CHUM (CRCHUM) et professeure agrégée de clinique à l’Université de Montréal. Elle a complété une formation doctorale en bioéthique à l’Université de Montréal pendant laquelle elle s’est intéressée aux représentations des transplanteurs français et québécois autour de la question du don vivant. Elle est aussi responsable de la plateforme Partenariat patient, famille et donneur du PRDTC.

Francis Lévesque

Francis Lévesque, Ph.D. est anthropologue, professeur agrégé à l’École d’études autochtones de l’Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue (UQAT), membre régulier du Centre interuniversitaire d’études et de recherches autochtones (CIERA) et directeur du module d’études autochtones de l’UQAT. Ses recherches portent sur les relations entre les humains et les animaux dans l’Arctique canadien, plus spécifiquement sur les relations entre les chiens et les Inuit. Il s’intéresse aux bienfaits et aux risques associés au fait d’avoir des chiens de même qu’aux savoirs inuits et aux changements dans les rapports humains-chiens survenus à la suite de la sédentarisation.

Mention spéciale aux étudiants qui ont contribué au contenu des sections Zoonoses et Immunodéficiences : Mira Hajjar (UdeM), Victoria Wagner (UdeM), Alexis Gendron (UdeM), Sandrine Juillard (UdeM) et Alexandre Brodeur (UdeS et UdeM).

* Le site web a été réalisé par Aïda Minguez, conceptrice graphique scientifique et illustratrice.

 

Nous joindre

Projet Laurent