RESEARCH

Always in the perspective of going further in the patient partnership and advancing research in donation and transplantation, you will find in this section all the sub-studies related to the Projet Laurent.

Impact of the COVID-19 pandemic in immunosuppressed populations and their relatives

AdobeStock_188773191.jpeg

Summary of the study

In the context of the COVID-19 pandemic, the team has started a sub-project at the Projet Laurent which aims to study, from April to October 2020, the effect of having a pet on (i) healthy lifestyle habits (physical activity, sedentary behaviour and sleep) and (ii) various mental health indicators (stress, psychological distress, anxiety and depressive symptoms, Positive and negative emotions and resilience) in immunosuppressed individuals and their entourage, in the specific context of the COVID-19 pandemic, based on data collected in weekly virtual focus groups and a longitudinal observational survey of more than 125 immunosuppressed patients and their entourage. 

 

With the help of key partners such as the Canadian Donation and Transplantation Research Program (CDTRP), Wellness Together Canada (WTC), Canadian Transplant Association (CTA), Kidney Foundation of Canada (KFoC), the Canadian Association for Mental Health (CAMH), TRF British Columbia (TRFBC), Qualaxia, Cystic Fibrosis Canada (CFC) and Health Canada (HC), this ambitious project aims to develop effective, real-time and adapted interventions to support immunosuppressed patients in their physical and mental health management during a global crisis such as the COVID-19 pandemic.  Thus, this sub-project of the Projet Laurent will provide new scientific knowledge and evidence-based tools to adequately support immunosuppressed populations and their relatives in stressful contexts such as the COVID-19 pandemic and will also successfully integrate mental health assessment and management as an integral part of the care of immunosuppressed patients.

aim 1

Capture the modification of lifestyle habits, stress, anxiety levels and coping strategies of immunosuppressed graft recipients, their families and their relatives in the specific context of the containment associated with COVID-19.

 aim 2 

Study the impact of pet ownership on the stress experienced by this population and the benefits that pets can bring to immunosuppressed recipients and their families.

RECHERCHE

Toujours dans l'optique d'aller plus loin dans le partenariat patient et faire avancer la recherche en don et transplantation, vous trouverez dans cette section toutes les sous-études en lien avec le Projet Laurent.

Impact de la pandémie COVID-19 sur les patients immunosupprimés et leurs proches

AdobeStock_101859305.jpeg

RÉSUMÉ DE L'ÉTUDE

Dans le contexte de la pandémie de COVID-19, l’équipe a démarré un sous-projet au Projet Laurent qui vise à étudier de avril à octobre 2020, l’effet d’avoir un animal de compagnie sur :

  • Les saines habitudes de vie (activité physique, comportement sédentaires et sommeil)

  • Divers indicateurs de santé mentale (stress, détresse psychologique, symptômes anxieux et dépressifs, émotions positive et négatives et résilience)

 

chez les personnes immunosupprimées et leur entourage, dans le contexte spécifique de la pandémie de COVID-19 à partir de données collectées lors de groupes de discussions hebdomadaires virtuels et d’une enquête observationnelle longitudinale auprès de plus de 125 patients immunosupprimés et de membres de leur entourage

 

À l’aide de partenaires clé, tels le Programme de recherche en don et transplantation du Canada (PRDTC), Wellness Together Canada (WTC), Canadian Transplant Association (CTA), Kidney Foundation of Canada(KFoC), the Canadian Association for Mental Health (CAMH), TRF British Columbia (TRFBC), Qualaxia, Cystic Fibrosis Canada (CFC) et Health Canada (HC) ce projet ambitieux vise à développer en temps réel des interventions efficaces et adaptées pour soutenir les patients immunosupprimés au niveau de leur gestion de la santé physique et mentale lors d'une crise mondiale telle que la pandémie COVID-19.  Ainsi ce sous-projet du projet Laurent fournira de nouvelles connaissances scientifiques et des outils fondés sur des preuves pour soutenir de manière adéquate les populations immunosupprimées et leurs proches dans des contextes stressants tels que la pandémie de COVID-19 et permettra également d'intégrer avec succès l'évaluation et la gestion de la santé mentale comme partie intégrante des soins aux patients immunosupprimés.

OBJECTIF 1

​Étudier la modification des habitudes de vie, du stress, des niveaux d'anxiété et des stratégies d'adaptation des receveurs de greffe immunosupprimés, de leur famille et de leurs proches dans le contexte spécifique du confinement associé à COVID-19.

OBJECTIF 2

Étudier l'impact des animaux de compagnie sur le stress vécu par cette population et les avantages que les animaux de compagnie peuvent apporter aux patients immunosupprimés et à leur famille.